Thursday, December 15, 2011

When Christmas Buying Goes Too Far

I think I have violent tendencies in my sleep.  No joke!  One night, in my sleep, I just did a karate kick and flung my laptop off my bed.  Charles said it really flew.  Then not too long ago I flung my fist in the air and punched my husband in the mouth.  He has to get dental work now.  Well, recently I got a french manicure so my nails are longer than what I'm used to.  Last night I hit my headboard in my sleep incredibly hard with my nails. My nails hit so hard I just laid in agony for 10 minutes till the pain subsided enough to fall asleep.  Today they are really sore.  Whenever I do these things I don't just kinda punch something.  My husband said it's with like a super human strength.  Good grief!  One night he turned his back to me he said to protect himself.  Heh heh.  

I'm 17 weeks pregnant and FEELING GREAT!  No more morning sickness (unless I say the word coffee out loud I feel a little weird).  The energy is back and I feel like I'm waking up finally to normalcy.  My husband is just awesome though and since he gets back before anyone wakes up, he lets me sleep in if needed in the morning. (That's how I get my rest, Happy Elf Mom).  Sometimes I'm doing laundry till past midnight until I just can't wash anymore.  Or waiting to mop till kids are in bed.  Sometimes while everyone is asleep I feel a little tap right where the baby is.  He/she is so little though that I have to be really still to feel it.  Pregnancy is such a gift and blessing. I used to rush these things but not anymore.  Babies just grow up way too fast.  I've been changing diapers since the year 2000 with no breaks and I've gotten to the point where there is just no rush to potty train.  We just wait till their 3rd birthday.  Once they blow out those candles we take the 3 year old out to celebrate and pick out their first underwear.  Their excitement is so cute.

Tomorrow we will be done with our Christmas shopping which is gonna make the rest of December completely relaxing!  We keep it pretty simple for Christmas.  We get each kid 3 gifts. One big one and 2 normal size ones.  This year we got each kid a bike and since we purchased it on Black Friday, we only paid $40 for the big ones and $25 for the smaller ones.  We actually didn't go out that day.  My mother-in-law picked them up at Walmart for us.  I didn't want them to have video games this Christmas so I got them stuff to be active and imaginative.  We got them costumes to play in as well.  We always purchase anything we get with cash so if we don't have it, we can't buy it.  That way there is no after Christmas stress or debt.  We've already paid off $19,000 in the past and don't ever want to go back into that.  So, no credit cards for us!  Those are like loaded weapons.  The picture below breaks my heart.  Have you noticed the increase in stories around Black Friday?  I don't even show up to those things anymore because I was hurt pretty bad back in 2002.  It was my first time and I thought everyone just waits in line peaceably.  I had no idea it was gonna be violent.  A drunk guy pushed two carts together and rammed them over and over in the back of me.  I was pregnant with my 3rd child.  I was in a lot of pain but couldn't sit down because I would've been trampled by all the craziness.  That was so scary I never participated again.


My kids can be in such a bubble at times thinking that we don't have a lot.  This makes me sad since I see what goes on in other countries and the kids even here in the states that eat once a day if they are lucky.  Abused kids scared in their own home.  Forget about presents, all they want is a safe place to stay, someone to hug them, and not be hungry.  The other day we were driving past a neighborhood that was really poor.  My kids said, "Mommy, are we in Mexico?  I said no, we are just in a poorer neighborhood.  They were shocked at the condition of the houses and how small they were.  Still, in America, we have it pretty good with all the help.  The poorest people in America are among the richest in certain places in other countries.  It's crazy how spoiled we are in America.  Sure we are all going through economic hardships but I still see some pretty full restaurants and malls.

By the way, there is a cool giveaway going on over at Notes From a Homeschooling Mom and you can check it out also on Facebook.  There are not too many educational games out there so check it out! :D

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

When Kids are Sick and Optimism is a Necessity

Ivy
Just when we thought we were free and clear from the whole lice nightmare, 3 of my kids came down with bronchitis and had to go on antibiotics. The others ones sick but it didn't get too serious

We were so happy to be back in church and that lasted just one service.  We were back at home again.  The thing about it is the kids are supposed to be practicing for the church Christmas play and they haven't been able to.  So, tonight they'll finally get to practice at church.  Caleb will have to stay on my lap in church though because he's not cleared to go into nursery yet.  Then again, it's extremely hard to hold a baby in church because babies are always in the nursery until 3 years old.  The kids that are sitting in church are well trained to be quiet and stay sitting in their seat.  Often when I bring Caleb I have to get up and just stand in another room so we're not a distraction.  Then I figure since I can't hear anything we should just stay home.  I don't know.  


Ashley and I waiting in Urgent care
The thing about the kids is that they usually come down with sickness one at a time. I first took Ivy to the ER and then Caleb and Ashley another time.  So after I came back from my second trip, literally within a half hour Ashley was crying when she'd go potty.  If only I had known that when we just were at the ER.  So, we had to wait till the next day to go to an urgent care and get her some medicine.  The kids were burning up in fevers, Ivy hacking like crazy, and Ashley screaming about pain.  I feel bad as a mom seeing them that miserable.  They are finally getting better though.  You know what's crazy is ever since I pulled my kids from public school (6 months ago) my kids have been pretty darn healthy. They used to catch what all the other kids had and for the longest time I couldn't figure out why my kids were always coming down with something.  So, to be dealing with this now is no big deal in comparison.  In fact, when my kids were in school they were sick so much that I had to pull out of platform music ministry at church.  I had never connected the dots till seeing how healthy they've been since then.

You know, through all that and having to sit in waiting rooms for each kid, I realized that we had such good times talking and cuddling.  Just being alone with each one.  Often we take kids separately on errands and appointments.  It usually follows with a treat.  Oprah (this is the only time I'll ever quote her) said that moms often feel they don't spend enough alone time with each one.  We forget though that every time we change a diaper, often we're talking and playing with them.  Giving them kisses.  Whether it's to show them how to tie their shoes, potty on the toilet, reading them a book, going on an errand, those all count.  It's so true.


I found this video about how a mother's touch saved her baby's life.  It's so amazing I wanted to share it with you.


Monday, December 12, 2011

Is Michelle Duggar Trusting God or Just Being Selfish?

Ever since the news came out about the Duggars losing their 20th child there have been some big online debates.  Some are sad for them, angry at them, don't give a crud, can relate, or are quick to judge and want everyone to know.  


I know everyone is entitled to their opinion.  This is America, right?  What happens when you get a lot of people who believe their way is right and that's that?  No arguing with them.  If you disagree with them they'll make fun of you, mock you, swear at you, insult you.  What causes this kind of anger in people over just a disagreement in beliefs?

I'm so glad I don't live in a country where how many kids I have is forced on me.  Whether I want one kid or 20, that is my business.  Not anyone else's.  Whether a doctor tells me it's healthy for me to have another one or not, that's my business.  Whether people think we make enough money or not, well, that's also our business.  Just as you have your own.  Welcome to America.  

Why is there such an anger towards large families these days?  People act like this is a new thing. Do people remember life before birth control pills?  My grandma remembers.  She had 9 kids and my husband's grandmother had 10.  She gave birth to her last child at the age of 45.  Having your last child at this age was common.  Yet, people are attacking Michelle Duggar for being pregnant at the age of 45.  Why?  Is it not Michelle's body as it was yours when you got your tubes tied?  Did the doctor force you to do that?  No, you were given a choice.  I think people who have such a dislike towards large families wouldn't of liked living in the days before birth control or the understanding of Natural Family Planning.


"Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward." Psalm 127:3

Remember when having kids was considered a blessing from God?  I don't know if maybe after reading the bible several times through I somehow skipped any scripture on limits but please correct me if I'm wrong.  Where in the bible does God give limits?  I know the world can give TONS of worldly advice on the matter.  Money, doctors, health, material things, age.  I'm still waiting, and have been for a long time, for someone to point out the only opinion that matters to me and that's from the Word of God that there is a limit.

My pastor said it well.  He said, "People who treasure things above children just can't understand how someone who puts children above things can enjoy it so much.  They just don't get it.  Your children are your treasures.  Not material things." 


Recently, I heard the argument that it's not fair to the siblings. That EVERY SINGLE person they've met from a large family hated growing up in a large family.  That they had to be the mom and ended up not wanting to have kids when they are older.  Really?  So those 2 people they met are now a blanket for all large families?  Sure you have the parents that try to turn their kids into their own personal slaves but I've seen this in small families as well.  I've even seen this from families with only 2 kids.  Even if you took a poll and found 10 people from large families to say they hated being in one, you cannot throw the blanket over millions that are in one.  My husband's family LOVE being apart of a large family and are all really close.

Living your life according to scriptures will always, always bring hatred from the world.  I've learned that when the world agrees with my way of living, I might need to reexamine my life according the scripture.  Usually, when you are living for Christ (not just saying it but living it), you will get backlash from the world.  Well, smile, because that usually means you're doing something right.  Jesus died on the cross with the world spitting on Him, mocking, cursing, and laughing at him. 


360283_ABCMouse.com-Free Learning Activities-First Month Free-Click Here!

Another argument people use is that large families make their kids work too hard.  Really?  Let's look back and see how kids worked around In the late 1700's and early 1800's.  An article called History of Child Labor points out that a lot of children either worked on farms or in factories for very long hours every day.  Over the years it seems to have turned into the other extreme.  Kids shouldn't have chores, teachers blamed for bad grades, and never even think about asking the older ones to keep an eye out for the little ones while mommy works on some paperwork or makes some phone calls. That is child abuse these days.  Well, the only problem with that is now employers are saying that kids are coming to work expecting an easy day, minimal effort, late to work, early to leave, and is expecting high pay. Whatever happened to a balance?  There is nothing wrong with expecting kids to have some responsibility around the house and even learn some about caring for others.  

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6


Regardless with what you believe, I think we should all have respect for each other.  I disagree with women using chemical birth control but I don't write hate notes on their page, send them mocking emails, or laugh at them for what I think is a lack of knowledge.  Facebook, TLC, and Saturday Night Live isn't my idea of research. The best thing any of us can do is our own bible study on issues and our own health studies.  We have to come to our own conclusions for ourselves and for our family and bathed in prayer.   In writing this, I am just hoping someone, anyone, will just understand that the best way to win someone over is using some respect and understand that not every person will agree or think exactly alike.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Birthday Party Etiquette 101- Guest Post


I just so happened to be heading to a kids birthday party today and thought this was perfect timing to have a guest post!  I really appreciate this post because I don't throw many parties and  never thought about some of these things that are good to know.  Enjoy! -Virginia

***********************
Birthday Party Etiquette 101


If you're relentlessly browsing the aisles for super mario party supplies or trying to sort out a princess birthday party, the theme may be the only thing you’re really thinking about. However, there are certain “rules” that apply to every party. So what are these unwritten rules and how can you avoid faux pas when hosting a birthday party? Read these tips to make sure that everyone has a great time at your little one’s next celebration.
  • Invites
Don’t allow your kids to distribute birthday invites in class. This will make others in the class feel left out on alienated. Make a list of invitees with your child, then drop off or mail the invitations individually. Try and explain to your son or daughter that talking about the party at school is a bad idea.
  • Prepare Party Favors
As thanks for all the birthday presents that parents have bought, it’s good form to have nice party favors for the kids. Even if you do something easy, like baking cookies or cupcakes for each kid, the gesture is greatly appreciated by fellow parents.
  • Other Child Blues
It’s natural for other children to feel jealous of the birthday boy or girl getting more attention. Involve your other children by having them invite a friend over to keep entertained. Try and explain to your other children that you will do something just as special for their birthdays.
  • RSVP
The dreaded RSVP. Don’t you hate it when parents don’t RSVP? Okay, you may be a little peeved at parents for not calling you up and telling you that their children are attending, but really all you have to do is call them up and ask sweetly if their child will be able to make it on the specified date. Just make sure not to say anything rude to the negligent parent!

So there you have it, some tips to help you be the pinnacle of class and etiquette during your child’s birthday party. Now, for the party planning!

-Melissa C.

Friday, December 09, 2011

In Loving Memory of Sleep

Should say "By Kids"  
Being a mom has turned me into such a light sleeper.  Not sure, but it might get worse when they are teens.  I guess we'll see.  Sometimes I get up real early in the morning, around 4am, and I'll just do a check around the house to make sure everyone is actually sleeping in their bed.  Make sure no one has rolled onto the floor. So I notice this morning that Ashley wasn't in her bed...not the couch....not the boys room.  I started to really worry.  As I'm standing in the hallway in a sleepy fog, Ashley comes out of my room and says, "hi mom."  She was in my bed!  She is so little I didn't even know she was there.  Little stinker.  The only problem is if I do walk around so much like that then I can't go back to sleep usually.  Since I only slept 5 hours I was gonna certainly try.

As soon as I close my eyes I hear clickety-clack.  My dog's nails walking across the tile back into where my kids' rooms are.  Whoa!  I threw off my covers and ran out into the hallway.  I knew exactly what my Great Dane was up to and he was looking for some indoor plumbing.  Right on my kids' carpet.  I caught him trying to go in my boys' room and as soon as he saw me he bolted.  Yep, he was up to something so I let him outside and he ran right out to potty.  So frustrating!!  He never used to do this but he's always been the dog that once he learns a bad behavior from another dog, it stays with him the rest of his furry life.  Every night we've been having to shut all the bedroom doors to make sure he doesn't ruin the carpet in the back rooms.  Yes, he has a perfectly working bladder. When all bedroom doors are shut, he always goes to the backdoor to to tell us he has to potty in the backyard.  If he had a bad bladder, he would pee anywhere.  However, the kids aren't always going to keep their bedroom doors shut and he knows he can sneak back there.  Anyway, since I had to stand and wait 10 minutes till he was ready to come in, I gave up the sleeping idea and just got some coffee instead.  :P

Ivy and Kyle have really been looking forward to their field trip at school today.  They only go to a school once a week so stuff like this is extra special. Well, a couple of days ago 3 of my kids started sounding sick.  Ivy was the worst so I took her to Urgent Care and sure enough, she has Bronchitis.  She cried her little eyes out.  She said she really wanted to see what it's like to ride in a school bus and see the special Christmas play they were going to.  Makes mommy's heart sad too.  We haven't had to experience sicknesses in the last 6 months so this is such bad timing for Ivy.  When my kids were in public school they were sick ALL the time.  It was insane.  Just being faithful to church was a miracle because the more kids you have, it takes a bit longer for sickness to run it's course.  Even if 90% of the family is healthy, if you have one little one sick, you gotta care for them at home.  Not only that but sending my kid to school sick was unfair to all the other kids (and their parents).  I always wished other parents would realize that too.  Even since school let out last May, my kids have been super healthy.  TILL this week.  Hey, that's pretty awesome.

Thursday, December 08, 2011

Can Having Many Children Mean Better Health Overall?

I've been thinking about the this subject for awhile.  I mean, over the last decade at least.  I used to be in a mommy's group where it was pretty popular to wait to try for kids until the late 30's.  After listening to their reasoning, I pretty much got the idea that they just wanted to live life first and then start thinking about kids.  It made me sad to watch them try and try to have kids and eventually hope for at least one before it was too late.  Then I saw some of them have to spend thousands of dollars to try and get pregnant.  Another lady had to have donated eggs because hers were too old.  I mean, this was actually a pretty common problem among women I have met that waited so long.  Now, why is it that some women will have no problem having kids at the age of 40 and then others, who waited so long, have eggs that are just too old at the age of 37?  I know it can vary from person to person but I think it's interesting that a majority of women I met fell in these two categories:

*Women having children young:
Had little problems with getting pregnant and bearing children even up to the age of 45.  Even good recovery.


*Women waiting till just before 40:
Have trouble getting pregnant, eggs too old, having to implant, trouble carrying full term, harder recoveries.

Of course there are always the exceptions.  Just seems INTERESTING.  I mean if anything, the energy in moms of many are AMAZING.

How is it that someone can have baby after baby after baby and be so incredibly healthy?  Wouldn't it completely wear the body down?  I used to envision a broken body where she was all creaky and could barely get around.  No so.  I meet these moms of large families and it's like they are in their 20's.  Then I often meet moms in their 40's just starting to raise little ones for the first time and they seem so worn out physically and with little patience (exceptions of course).  Some would argue that having kids wear you down because of stress.  Well, I look at it from a different perspective.  When I got married I was an extremely immature, selfish little girl who needed to die to her flesh.  Badly.  Motherhood will do that.  It's amazing the patience skills you get when you have to clean up an entire room of spilled chocolate powder.  Waking up every two hours in the night will make you die to your flesh.  Having to change diapers for 10 years straight will eventually get you to stop thinking about all those diapers you have to change and instead how you get 5 minutes uninterrupted of tickling and giving kisses to baby on the changing table.  I am never in any hurry to potty train my kids because I'm just so used to changing diapers and really enjoy their littleness.  Having a lot of kids just did that for me.

I don't know why I constantly watch out for stuff like this but I do.  I feel like having children really, really is a blessing from God in more ways than one. Mentally, physically, and emotionally.  Even spiritually.  Trust me, kids bring me to my knees before the thrown. Keeps my heart right before God.

I found this interesting article from a blog that caused a lot of debate.
Having Many Children is Healthier

What do you think?

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

Taking Kids to Our Anniversary Dinner

We don't have sitters anymore and so we had to take our kids to our 13th wedding anniversary dinner.  It was definitely different because you kind of want the night to be about you and him but this time I had to adjust my thinking and just celebrate that we're having 7 kids in our 13 years together.  Well, it was still at our favorite restaurant and had romantic lighting like we love.

My camera broke so I've been stuck taking pictures with our cell phone. The quality isn't too great.

The boys loved their fancy glass dishes and the kids were sooooo well behaved.  I was so proud of them as they quietly ate and talked in whispers.  Ryan even said, "Mom, I will watch the kids while you and dad go sit at your own little table."  Of course we didn't take up the offer. Haha.

I'm soooo happy that I had my 2 girls together like that because they are such good buddies.  I love also how our older 3 boys are grouped together.  It works well for hand me down also.  Tee hee.
When we were dating, Charles took me to Macy's and bought us matching sweaters.  13 years later the sweaters still look new and we are so happy to wear them on special occasions.  It's just so neat they we've had them all this time.  

I've been going to this same restaurant since I was 16 years old.  I've never ordered a different plate.  However, the cost of our plate has gone up from $10 to $17.  It's still so worth it because it's DELICIOUS.

We always order:


Caleb was such a good baby but it was a little interesting since his first clear sentence he's learned is "Stop it, mom!"  Lovely.  He's DEFINITELY a two year old and showing it well.  He'll say no to his dad and then run and hide behind anything he can.

All in all the night went well.  Charles came home with some GORGEOUS flowers. I was so impressed when he told me that since the already put together flowers weren't so good, he picked 13 roses of his own to purchase.  13 for 13 years.  I still would have loved to had one night in a year alone with him but we made the best of it.  :)

Tuesday, December 06, 2011

Something Magical About Decorating the Christmas Tree

I do love when the holidays come but sometimes I experience anxiety also. I'm not sure why.  I guess because the pressures of getting the right gift for everyone can be a overwhelming.  I'm the type of person that always says I don't need anything and just enjoy buying for my kids.  I remember being little and opening gifts.  I would look over at my parents and feel sad that we didn't get them anything.  I had no money so of course I couldn't.  They would just be smiling and happy watching us.  I would ask them if they were sad and they always said no.  They just enjoyed watching us open gifts.  That seemed to impossible to me as a kid.  Now I understand.

On Sunday, Charles finally took the tree down from the attic. I was so happy because the kids had begged him and begged him. I'm not a nagger so I just asked two different times and just left it there.  Kids are so much more convincing anyway.  ;)  While I was napping on Sunday he surprised me.  I woke up to him unloading all the decorations and Christmas music playing.

Charles said we were missing popcorn and hot chocolate.  We found a bag of popcorn we could pop and had fun making it in a pan for the first time.  Usually we just pop them in those bags in the microwave.  Did you know that sometimes you have to let guys experience mistakes so you can laugh like crazy?  Well, Charles didn't believe me that you HAVE to use a lid when popping popcorn on the stove.  Nowwwww he knows why.

Remember how magical and wonderful it was as a kid decorating the tree?  I used to worry about having a perfect looking Christmas tree but now we just sit back and let them do it the way they want.  Who cares if it's perfect?  Sure there might be bald spots but that's fine.

Nothing is better than having all the lights off in the room and only having the lights from the Christmas tree.  We keep them on all day and all night.  It's just so beautiful.  It really helps to get in that cheery holiday mood too.

Chaz made and passed out hot cocoa to everyone in the house. Before I could even get a sip of mine, Ivy gulped it down.  Tee hee... It was so sweet of him though to serve everyone.  

Monday, December 05, 2011

Celebrating 13 Years Married and Adventures!


That doesn't feel like a long time to some but in this world, it actually is!  Thank GOD I married my best friend.  Makes the ups and downs a bit easier to handle.  :D

We had so many fun adventures in our first year of marriage.  I can't  believe how much we did before we had kids.  I got pregnant our 11th month of marriage.  Just 3 months before I became pregnant with our first, we made a trip to the Grand Canyon and hiked down it 6 hours.  Our feet were completely blistered by the time we reached the bottom and made camp. We got to swim next to the Havasupai Falls and race down the river.  It was gorgeous.  No, I don't wear bikini's anymore. Since that picture is sooooo tiny of me, I'm not embarrassed to post it. :)

Eating at the Indian village waiting
for helicopter
The next day there was a warning of a flash flood coming from the ranger.  Even though the skies were clear like you see in the picture, there was definitely one coming and we weren't taking chances.  We threw back on our 80lb packs and raced uphill 2 miles to a nearby indian village.  Even while we were quickly racing to get to safety, muddy water was rushing closer and closer next to our feet.  Once we reached the village we were safe for a bit and away from water but we had to get out of there.

Once we reached the village we took a helicopter out to safety.  The year before people had died from a flash flood so we weren't taking any chances.  Two years after this picture was taken, this helicopter crashed and killed everyone inside.  Crazy, huh?


From there we headed to Vegas. For us, it wasn't to gamble.  We just basically went site seeing and visiting the yummy buffets. My husband forgot to inform me about this part of the trip so I did not pack anything fancy at all.  So here were were walking around in hiking clothes and boots. For some reason I have no pictures of us here.  A funny memory was getting locked out of our hotel in our pajamas.  We were with family and didn't know where they were so we just had to sit by our room on the floor till they came hours later with the key.  People in evening gowns kept passing us from the elevator looking at us strangely.  

Then we headed to Utah and got to experience being at a cowboy camp.  It was such a neat place where you stay in cabins and do lots of fun activities. We went shooting, zip lining, cliff repelling, rock climbing, riding ATV's, horseback riding, sitting around a campfire at night.  It was awesome!

3 months later I found out I was pregnant with our first.  We weren't trying, but hey, it got the ball rolling and I've had 6 other fantastic, life changing surprises after that.  Ever since then we have experienced so many adventures since having kids and I wouldn't trade any of it for anything in this world.  Having a family is so awesome.


Friday, December 02, 2011

Why I Should Hire a Gift Giving Detective For Christmas

Wow, it was sooooo crowded today shopping for Christmas.  I'm so glad everyone was still in merry spirit and not being rude.  It was funny though when the manager thought he'd be polite by saying, "Hello!" as he passed by.  I said, "Oh, hello Ron!" with a smile.  He practically had whiplash as he spun around to see if he knew me.  Well, he was wearing a name tag.  I love the look strangers get when you call them by name.  It always shocks and makes them smile.

Guys are easy to shop for.  At least for some.  Just buy them
video games.  This'll be my husband or my boys when they
are older.
I'm not a very good gift giver.  I love to give but it's such a science to me in getting the right gift for someone.  My mother-in-law and sister-in-law are such geniuses when it comes to picking out the perfect gift.  I'm always shocked.  How did they know I needed this?  However, when I'm Christmas shopping, I'll stand in one spot for 20 minutes trying to figure out if my niece would even like these pajamas or not.  Are they her size?  Is it her style?  Too babyish?  Argh!  Then I go to the boy section pick out gifts for my nephews.  Okay, at their age what are they into?  I don't know, I don't have young teens. Is THIS too young for their age?  Will they just scoff?  Give a fake smile?  Love it?  Hate it?  I hate the guesswork.  Then I get to the adults.  Man.... my brain begins to spin.  What if they already have this?  Will it just get returned, shelved?  Often I wish my entire family would just create Amazon wish lists so I can just click, click, click, pay.  Then it can be shipped to my house and I just wrap it.  Seriously, I go through this stress every year.


Usually, while my mind is tormented over WHAT to buy, my husband is trailing the shopping cart with a calculator in hand.  Ha ha.  I have to always explain that it's Christmas and it's better to give than receive. Don't get me wrong, we DO NOT go overboard.  Not even for our own kids. Also, we always pay cash so we have it or we don't.  The first Friday December we always set up our Christmas tree so we're excited!  Is Christmas buying a breeze for you or just as puzzling?  It's easy to buy for my own kids because I always know what they want. It just seems harder for anyone outside my own little family.

Thursday, December 01, 2011

Overruled: Government Invasion of your Parental Rights

This video really hits home for me since my parents and I experienced this when I was in school.  I was raised Christian.  Not just where we called ourselves Christians, I mean that my parents had higher standards than most but only to protect us.  Thank goodness.  Well, my school disagreed and forced me to go through counseling in middle school.  What was my parent's big offense?  We didn't have a TV and we weren't allowed to listen to any radio station that was offered.  Especially a particular one that was very vulgar.  Well, while sitting in one of my classes, I was surprised when the principal himself pulled me out for questioning. He said he had found out that I couldn't listen to that particular vulgar radio station.  He told me that he set up a meeting with the school counselor.  While in the counselor's office she found out that we also didn't have a TV.  So she wrote up a letter, I wasn't sure what for at that time.  When she found out I also got swats when I was bad, well, that made her really upset.  Never mind that it was perfectly legal.  What I didn't know was that she was writing that letter to CPS.  She talked to me about how my parents were abusive and over sheltering me.  She successfully turned me against my parents over time and I began to think of my parents as my enemy.  Eventually I ran away to seek a "normal" family that would let me do whatever I wanted.   Of course that "normal" family had much more freedom but I ignored the fact that the father was an alcoholic.  Sometimes the kids had to protect their mom from their dad.  Over and over I would run away looking for a family where I could do whatever I wanted.  However, each time I saw that it came with some major consequences having those freedoms.  Eventually, I fell into deep depression as I was constantly told my family were freaks.  The school had taken a confident girl on honor roll and made her into a grade failing girl with serious depression and suicidal tendencies.  I started cutting myself by high school and would burn things in my room.  I felt like I could find comfort nowhere.  Especially since the school told me my parents were my enemy.  "You have to go to church 3 times a week?  You have NO choice?"  When you have an authority figure constantly feeding this stuff into a kids brain, it's gonna do some damage.  It wasn't until I saw family after family after family who looked like they had it all and had all sorts of worldly freedom did I start to understand the love of my parents.  Those families had some major issues and weren't so happy after all. To this day those families are torn apart.  I began to find comfort in my parent's protective boundaries.  It was because they loved God and they loved me.  The scary part?  My parents NEVER knew the school did this to me until recently.  They had no idea why their honor roll daughter was spiraling down hill at an incredibly fast pace.  Don't think schools are out to protect parent's rights. I know.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

My Piggy Bank Went on a Diet Without My Permission

As much as my husband and I miss his other career, this one has been such a blessing for me in a different way.  He works a split shift and comes home during the day.  It's so great having daddy home during most of the kids' waking hours.  Having him here for lunch and dinner is awesome.  We go back and forth, back and forth about whether it's safe enough for him to apply back into Engineering.  EVERY TIME we think it's safe, we hear news that unemployment is not really dropping (Obama is full of it) and it's best to stay with what is stable.  Because of what is happening in another country, it could make unemployment here rise even more.  Sigh.  However, I would miss Charles if he had his old schedule back and wasn't coming home till sun down. He's truly my best friend and we get along really well.  Thank goodness, otherwise we'd be driving each other nuts by now.  I don't know.  We worry that if he did get his old career back, it'd be really unstable and then he'd be out of work in 6 months.  Engineering is not too safe right now.  The proof is in the pudding, Obama.  Unemployment is "dropping" because you're looking at the facts in the wrong place.

The lice is officially gone!  Having that lady come to my house and show me how to properly do it made the problem go away so much faster.  If only I had met her sooner.  I think for now I'm gonna keep going through their hair every other day and the once a week just to make sure.  Just one egg missed can cause a problem.  I'm just so happy we can go to church again and this problem is solved before the holidays!  Wheeeeee!  Did you know I missed my sister and her family coming in from South Africa?  They are back home after 6 years of being gone and I couldn't even see their plane come in because of the problem.  It was heartbreaking.  At least  we can see them for the holidays.  :D

Today I woke up with a migraine, but on a positive note, it forced me to take the morning slow and just watch my kids play.  Caleb kept walking around with this gun and making shooting sounds at everyone.  The boys and I were talking in their bedroom last night about how great it is that there are 4 boys.  One more boy to play soldier with, video games, and other fun stuff.  They think Caleb is the greatest little brother ever.  We shall see though as he gets older and out of diapers.  Haha.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Reasons to Rejoice, Cry, and Laugh Out Loud

So now I'm 15 weeks along and into my second trimester.  Thank goodness.  I've always disliked the first trimester very much.  It's just not much fun at all since it always comes with morning sickness.  In my first trimester I was hungry every two hours and if I didn't eat, I'd get very sick.  That can make weight gain just go out of this world.  So, now I'm hoping my weight gain slows down.  Babycenter says I should have only gained 5lbs.  Hahahahahahahaha!  Now my appetite has gone down to normal and so it's a lot easier.  Now the fun finally begins.  ;D  This is the trimester of finding out the sex, feeling the baby move, and getting my energy back.  The house is finally clean again!

I'm having a serious issue with my Great Dane and I can stand it right now.  Just recently I had to clean all my carpets because of dog pee. This is a new thing.  He was always trained before so I don't know what to do.  I rented a cleaner and worked on all my carpets for 8 hours to get the smell out.  Just yesterday I walked into my closet and there was dog pee on my laundry.  Smoke was coming out of my ears and I banned my dogged outside till I know what to do.  Today he threw up on my carpet because he had been eating out of our garbage in the middle of the night.  I'm pretty much done with dogs or cats.  I'm not gonna find another home for him but I think he's our last dog for sure.  

On a light night, I found some favorite videos that get my family cracking up every time we see them! This is one of my favorite.  These guys go into Home Depot and cry about everything.  Soooo funny.

Monday, November 28, 2011

How to Get Rid of Head Lice Fast

Okay, this has been my first experience with this nightmare. Some don't feel like it's a big deal but it was for me because it kept us out of church for 3 weeks and we actually battled it for 4 weeks.  IF ONLY I knew what I know now it would've been dealt with WAAAAY faster.  So a professional came out to my house and showed me exactly how it's done.  At this point it had already been 3 weeks and I felt like I wasn't getting very far.  Also, I was taking the more expensive route.  Isn't there a better way?  The idea of washing every single clothing and bedding item in my house seemed so daunting.  Especially with this size family and all that comes with it.  So, to save you the headache, I would love to share what I learned from this wonderful angel that came to my house.  

Originally, I kept buying those lice kits and they are expensive.  There is nothing wrong with those and it's great to use to kill the bugs already hatched and crawling around.  However, you HAVE to get the eggs. Every single one of them and you can only do that with a lice comb.

$4 Amazon or at
Sally's Beauty Supply
I first bought this comb for only $4 and although it does get the eggs out, your kids won't like you very much since it pulls out some hair.  It does work though and is cheaper.  Do NOT use the combs that come in the lice kits.  They are completely worthless.


$11 Amazon
Instead I ordered this comb from Amazon for $11 and it's much more friendly to kids but not to the bugs.  You will definitely get any and all eggs out with this comb.

Wash your child's hair and then condition really good.  Don't rinse the conditioner out because this is gonna help get the eggs out when combing through.  The picture of the girl shows her hair dry but when I'm doing it, it's wet with conditioner on it.

Make sure to separate hair into sections and start right at base pulling all the way out to the ends. Wipe comb each time onto a paper towel but always on a dry spot each time.  Keep folding paper towel to wipe on new sections. When it's used up, put in a zip lock bag and cut another piece of paper towel to use.  Don't just pull comb down with each section but also sideways and back up.  Eggs can be laid in all directions of the hair and this way you are sure to get it.  Once you finish a section, pin it out of the way to start on a different section.  Take special care to look around the crown of the head, surprisingly, this is where I've found the most each day I combed through.  When you are finished, make sure all used paper towels are sealed up in a ziplock bag before throwing away.  Also, rinse and put your comb in a ziplock bag and put in freezer overnight.  Repeat this procedure every day till you find not even one egg after you've combed through hair.  Even one egg missed will become a problem so it's good to really make sure.

The first night only I bought a spray for only $5 that kills bugs on the bed or any other non-washable item. After it dried I vacuumed the beds.  Each night before they go to bed I would throw all their bedding and pillows into the dryer for 20 minutes on high heat.  After they wake up I do it again.  The reason is throughout the day they they go to their bed sometimes to rest or just play and if they do have any bugs, it can get back on the bedding.  Then repeat that night drying the bedding on high heat before they lay on it.  It kills the bugs.  I also dried all of their stuffed animals they slept with at night.

Another tip is you can fill up a spray bottle of vinegar water.  It can help loosen up the eggs and also help to prevent lice being able to lay eggs on their head.  If you get a notice from the school that lice is going around, this is a good precaution.  You can spray on their hair each morning before sending them off to school.

Don't worry about washing every single item of clothing in your house.  Lice can't live without human blood for more than 2 or 3 days.  I only worried about washing things they would come in close contact with.

I've kept my kids out of church for obvious reasons of not passing it around and it's soooo not nice to send kids to school until they are totally clear.  I hope this helps and please leave me a comment any time if you have any questions!